Join Us On:


The Independent Charities Seal of Excellence is awarded to Dare to Dream Children's Foundation as one of the Best in America.  The members of Independent Charities of America and Local Independent Charities of America, upon rigorous independent review have been able to certify, document, and demonstrate on an annual basis that they meet the highest standards of public accountability, program effectiveness, and cost effectiveness. 

These standards include those required by the US Government for inclusion in the Combined Federal Campaign, probably the most exclusive fund drive in the world.  Of the 1,000,000 charities operating in the United States today, it is estimated that fewer than 50,000, or 5%  meet or exceed these standards, and, of those, fewer than 2,000 have been awarded this Seal.  

  • 2014 Miss Texas Pageant honored Jan Tennyson as one of their 2014 Women of Achievement
  • 2012 Dallas County Commissioner's Court  
  • 2007 Texas Governor's Lonestar Achievement Award
  • 2007 Ebby Halliday Rose of Distinction Award
  • 2006 Outstanding Woman of Today - Altrusa International, Richardson, Texas - to Jan Tennyson
  • 2006 Best in America seal by Local Independent Charities
  • 2003 Faithfulness Award - Texas Youth Commission
  • 2002 Honored at Dallas Community Appreciation Festival by TYC and Dallas Community Advisory Council
  • 2001 Longevity Award - Dallas County Juvenile Department
  • 1998 Fruhman's Group Community Support Award -Texas Youth Commission
  • 1997 Volunteer of the Year Award Dallas County Juvenile Department - Jan Tennyson 
  • 1996 Fruhman's Group Service Award -Texas Youth Commission


  • 2005 Mayor Laura Miller
  • 2002 Mayor Ron Kirk
  • 1995 Mayor Ron Kirk
  • Commendation letters
  • 2007 Senator John Carona
  • 2007 Congressman Pete Sessions
  • 2006 League of United Latin American Citizens -Joe Compos
  • 2006 Congressman Sam Johnson
  • 2003 Texas Youth Commission
  • 2003 Buckner Children & Family Services
  • 2001 Dallas Chief of Police, Terrell Bolton
  • 1998 Dallas Police Chief, Ben Click
  • 1995 Governor George W. Bush
  • 1993 President George Bush, Sr.

Youth centers :

  • Buckner Children & Family Services
  • Dallas County Emergency Shelter
  • YMCA Casa Shelter
  • Texas Youth Commission Cottrell House
  • TYC Southwest Key
  • Dallas County Letot Center
  • TRAC - foster care youth
  • Many other youth serving agencies throughout the United States


  • 2007 Senior Voice Magazine, Dallas, Texas
  • 2005 Park Cities News
  • 2002 Dallas Morning News Metropolitan Section
  • 2001 & 2003 Dallas Morning News Religion Section
  • 2002 & 2003 TBN (Trinity Broadcasting) Joy in our Town
  • KCBI, KVTT, KAAM Radio and many others

Some Ministries helped by Dare to Dream:

  • Covenant House, New York, Florida
  • Sasha Bruce House, Washington, D.C.
  • International Hope for the Hungry, Dallas, Texas
  • God Loves Kids
  • Reconciliation Outreach
  • Rejoice Africa
  • Leah's Sisters
  • and many others
Volunteers are screened by Dallas County Juvenile Department and the Texas Youth Commission.
Dare to Dream is a 501© (3) non-profit ministry audited annually by Philip Vogel & Company.


Dallas County Juvenile Department - Longevity Award

Dare to Dream presents Award to honor former Dallas Chief of Police, Ben Click

Governor's LoneStar Achievement Award 2007

Jan Tennyson presents Rev. Jimmie Slater with Dare to Dream Longevity Award